Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Barancik Prize for Innovation in Multiple Sclerosis Research

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual for
Outstanding Innovation in Multiple Sclerosis Research

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International researcher or team of researchers for exceptional contributions to multiple sclerosis research. The goal of the award is to acknowledge scientists who have demonstrated outstanding originality and innovation through their work.

A selection committee comprised of leaders in science, medicine, and MS advocacy will review nominees. The committee will evaluate:

- Exceptional innovation and originality in scientific research relevant to MS
- Impact and potential of the research to lead to pathways for the treatment and cure for MS
- Scientific accomplishments that merit recognition as a future leader in MS research

Nominees that exhibit these qualities will be invited to submit a final application that will include an interview by the selection committee.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 139483

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

This annual prize is $100,000 to be used at the discretion of the recipient.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Any investigator(s) active in MS research is eligible for the prize, and the nominee(s) may be from any institution or organization— public or private, government, as well as commercial entities. The award is intended for early to mid-career MS researchers. Nominees should have no more than 20 years of experience as an independent investigator or team leader to be eligible. There are no specific requirements for residency or citizenship. Nominees need not be current or past grantees of the National MS Society.

Pre-Application Information:

Deadlines for the 2019 prize: Nominations open April 1, 2019 and will be accepted until July 31, 2019.

Nominations must be submitted on behalf an individual, or team of individuals, by one or more colleagues or mentors. Self-nominations are not permitted.


- July/August 2019: Candidates are contacted and invited to submit materials in support of their nomination
- October/November 2019: Finalists are selected to present their research to the prize committee
- November/December 2019: Winner notified
- February 27, 2020: Award conferred, and recipient will present the Barancik Prize plenary lecture at ACTRIMS Forum in West Palm Beach, Florida

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nomination letters should be emailed to

Questions about the prize may be addressed to Mark Allegreta, PhD, at

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.